Winter Hair Care

Believe it or not the 21st of December marked the start of Winter! Personally Winter began once I had to start layering lol. I am not big on protective styling but I am conscious of the cold weather. As the temperature drops I tweak my regimen slightly.

IMG_1457
Don’t worry the gel settled lol

Although I prefer low manipulation styling opposed to protective styling, I incorporate more protective styles during the colder months. Currently my go to style is a bun, worn high or low . Lately I’ve been wearing the twists for a twist out for about 5 days, loosing them out and wearing them in a bun- or in a puff if I feel like it… I sometimes fantasise about getting braids or cornrows with extensions then I think about having to ask my sister (the only person I trust to do my hair 🙂 ) and the additional time it will take AND the fact that I’ll probably miss my hair within a week…I cba.

For my leave in I opt for my Giovanni Direct Leave In Weightless Moisture Conditioner opposed to my Shea Moisture Curl Enhancing Smoothie. The Giovanni Direct Leave In works well on my hair in the colder months. For daily moisturising I use my Camille Rose Naturals Almond Jai Butter or Shea Moisture Curl Enhancing Smoothie. Castor Oil is still bae and applied to my edges most nights.

I continue to wash and deep condition my hair every two weeks. As the cold sets in I try to wait even longer before washing my hair. Why? I hate washing my hair when it’s cold. My hair tends to take 1-2 days to dry fully. I try to avoid going out with damp/wet hair especially in the winter to reduce the risk of getting sick.

So far I’ve had juicy moisturized hair whilst following this regimen. I’m interested to see if I’ll need to change it much when the weather gets warmer.

What do you do differently to your hair as winter sets in?

Rhea xo

 

2 Comments

  1. Wow, your hair, let me take a moment to lust, absolutely gorgeous. A bun is my ‘protective style’ all year round lol. Over the years I have become tender headed for traditional ‘protective styles’. I can do my own braids, box braids, twist, weaves, whatever but because of my scalp issues I just put my hair in a bun and call it a day. Lovely post. New follower here👋

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment