REVIEW: Vegan Mozzarella @ Pizza Express

I’m not vegan. I have no intention of becoming vegan. But I am lactose intolerant. When I get the craving for a pizza I’ll deal with the possible discomfort (sometimes my stomach can hack the dairy) and get a gluten free one with regular mozzarella. Recently there’s been a few occasions where I’ve been reacting to lactose free cheese in a similar way to how I would if I had eaten normal lactose ridden cheese! So I’m on a quest to stop eating dairy altogether…except when I crave a gluten free dessert that contains butter or something 🙂

Sooo I decided to try the vegan mozzarella cheese at Pizza Express. I was a little nervous at first. I had been craving pizza ALL week so I really wanted to like it. I asked the server if she had tried the vegan cheese, she said she hadn’t- but her sister had and loved it. After a few words of encouragement from my own sister (“if you don’t try it you won’t know if you like it”) I decided to take the plunge. I had a Sloppy Giuseppe on a gluten free base with vegan mozzarella cheese and olives added.

When I saw the pizza I felt even more nervous. The cheese was almost white, and looked runny. What had I gotten myself into?! 😩 I dabbed my finger into the cheese and tasted it. It tasted similar to the white sauce in lasagne, I quite like the white sauce in lasagne. I sliced my pizza into four and had a bite. It tasted decent, good even. Not exactly like the Sloppy Giuseppe with the normal mozzarella cheese but still enjoyable. The pizza was still flavoursome like Pizza Express’ pizzas always are 😉. I think they could develop the texture and flavour of the cheese more as it didn’t really taste anything like cheese or feel anything like cheese.

That being said, I’m glad that I tried it. To be honest I think I’ll be ordering gluten free pizzas with the vegan mozzarella from now on. My health is more important right?

Have you tried the vegan mozzarella from Pizza Express?

What did you think of it?

Rhea xo

Leave a comment